PPT Coordinating Committee Election Season 2020: Nominate Fellow Organizers to Lead PPT

Join the core team of people who coordinate the direction of Pittsburghers for Public Transit.

Pittsburghers for Public Transit is a grassroots, democratic, member-led organization that fights for racial justice and public transit as a human right. PPT’s Coordinating Committee is the equivalent of our board of directors. We are looking for people who understand the importance of our work for transit justice in Allegheny County, and are looking to get more involved in directing the course of our campaigns, communications, and actions. See the list of current Coordinating Committee Members here. Up for nomination are seats currently filled by Lisa Gonzalez, Debra Green, Alison Keating, Jonah McAllister-Erickson, and Sue Scanlon.

Nominate yourself or someone who inspires you with their leadership, vision, and commitment to transit justice.

Black, Indigenous, People of Color, LGBTQ People, People with Disabilities, Immigrants, Womxn, and Youth nominations are STRONGLY encouraged. We’re not free until we’re all free.

Coordinating Committee Structure and Expectations

Each July, PPT members vote to fill 5 seats on the 11-seat Coordinating Committee with new or returning leaders. Coordinating Committee Members serve a 2-year term.

2 seats must be filled by members of the Amalgamated Transit Union, Local 85 (the union that represents all of the Port Authority’s bus operators and maintenance workers) because strong community/labor solidarity is a central belief of the organization. The other 8 seats are filled by members who have had previous experience with PPT’s work, and are looking to bring their involvement to the next level. The final seat is filled by the Director of the Thomas Merton Center, the organization that acts as PPT’s fiscal sponsor.

Quality candidates are active with PPT, or bring experience that the membership finds important for moving the organization forward. 

Members of the Coordinating Committee are expected to attend quarterly Coordinating Committee meetings – on the second Saturday of January, April, July, and October –  and should also stay engaged with General Membership Meetings on the second Wednesday of each month. 

Additionally, Coordinating Committee members will need to maintain active lines of communication with PPT staff and other PPT members to advise and assist with the organization’s strategy, tactics, structure, and financial sustainability. CC Members should also serve on one of PPT’s three committees (Organizing Committee, Communications Committee, and Research Committee).

Nominations and Elections

Nominations are open until July 3rd. PPT staff will confirm with each nominee whether they accept the nomination to be on the ballot. Each nominee will also be invited to submit up to 500 words about their background, experience, and vision for the organization. This can be submitted through the nomination form, email, or via phone and PPT staff will transcribe. These bios will be included in the ballot that’s sent out to PPT Members on July 6th. Nominees will have 3 minutes to speak at the July PPT member meeting before votes are cast.

Elections will be held at PPT’s July monthly meeting on July 8th. At the meeting, all nominated candidates will have space to share their vision for PPT and how their skills will help build the organization. All PPT Members in attendance will  be eligible to vote. PPT members are all those who support the Transit Bill of Rights, have participated in a PPT action or meeting, and have given dues of at least $2.75 cents within the last year. If PPT Members are not able to join the meeting, they can reach out to info@pittsburghforpublictransit.org to arrange for an absentee ballot. 

PPT Coordinating Committee Election Schedule

  • July 3rd: Nomination Deadline
  • July 6th: Ballots sent to PPT members with nominee bios
  • July 8th, 7pm: PPT Monthly Meeting with Coordinating Committee Nominee introductions and Elections
  • July 10th, 11:59pm: Final deadline for PPT members to submit their ballots via online or phone

Submit nominations through the link below, or by calling PPT’s Director, Laura Wiens, at 703-424-0854: